Who We Are

SPJ is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry through the daily work of its nearly 10,000 members; works to inspire and educate current and future journalists through professional development; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press through its advocacy efforts. Membership in SPJ is open to all media professionals who uphold the Society of Professional Journalists’ Code of Ethics. SPJ advocates for freedom of speech and of the press, promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry and works to inspire and educate current and future journalists. The SPJ Virginia Pro Chapter carries out that mission by holding events for journalists and the general public, honoring people who have made outstanding contributions to Virginia journalism and providing financial support for college journalists. The chapter helped establish the Virginia Coalition for Open Government and collaborates with groups such as the Virginia Press Association and the Richmond Association of Black Journalists on programs to serve the profession and the public. The Virginia Pro Chapter falls into SPJ’s Region 2, which spans Delaware, Maryland, Washington D.C., Virginia and North Carolina. For more SPJ Region 2 news, click here or visit Facebook. Stephenie Overman presently serves as Region 2 coordinator. Overman can be reached at soverman@spj.org. Join SPJ Va Pro today! Visit spj.org/join and select “Virginia Pro” under chapter name. Here are our bylaws; they explain how the chapter operates. Officers and Board of Directors
  • President Jeff South (retired professor, Virginia Commonwealth University)
  • Vice President Caroline Cardwell (public relations and communications strategist, Virginia Retirement System)
  • Treasurer Brian Eckert (freelance writer and editor)
  • Secretary Logan Bogert (reporter, The News Virginian)
  • Bonnie Newman Davis (journalist and journalism educator)
  • Clissa England (retired, Richmond Times-Dispatch)
  • Gregory Gilligan (business editor, Richmond Times-Dispatch)
  • Brett Hall (reporter, WAVY-TV)
  • John Hopkins (retired, Miami Herald)
  • Frank Klimko (associate editor, Best Week Insurance)
  • Nicole Livas (anchor/reporter, ABC 13 News)
  • Elliott Robinson (editor, Charlottesville Tomorrow)
  • Mike Szvetitz (managing editor, Richmond Times-Dispatch)
How to reach us: E-mail Virginia Pro SPJ at virginiaprospj@gmail.com, tweet us @SPJVA or find us on Facebook.