Who we are

SPJVa officers, 2022-2023

Dina Weinstein, President

Weinstein is an independent journalist who writes for Virginia Commonwealth University, the Chesterfield Observer and Richmond Magazine, and also teaches journalism.

Elliott Robinson, Vice President

Robinson is news director for VPM, Virginia’s home for public media. He previously was news editor of Charlottesville Tomorrow.

Mechelle Hankerson, Secretary

Hankerson is the news director at WHRO Public Media in Norfolk. She previously was a reporter for The Virginian-Pilot and The Virginia Mercury.

Brian Eckert, Treasurer

Eckert is an independent media consultant and freelance writer with decades of experience in news and public relations.

Board of Directors, 2022-2023

Frances Broaddus-Crutchfield

Broaddus-Crutchfield is an award-winning journalist and has been a copy editor for the Virginia Press Association and the Richmond Free Press.

Brian Carlton

Carlton is an independent media consultant and freelancer who works for “100 Days in Appalachia,” the BBC, the AP and other outlets.

Brett Hall

Hall is a municipal government reporter for WAVY-TV in Hampton Roads. He previously was a multimedia journalist in New York and a reporter for CBS Radio.

Chuck Jackson

Jackson is editor of The MadRapp Recorder. He has worked for the Blue Ridge Independent, the Culpeper Star-Exponent and other publications. 

Nicole Livas

Livas is an anchor and reporter for WVEC-13NewsNow (ABC) in Hampton Roads. She also has worked for Voice of America.

Deana Meredith

Meredith is communications manager for the Virginia Press Association. She is an award-winning writer and photographer

Desiree Montilla

Montilla is a reporter for NBC12 in Richmond. Earlier, she was a weekend anchor and reporter at CBS19 in Charlottesville.

Hawes Spencer 

Spencer is a Charlottesville-based journalist for numerous news outlets. He wrote “Summer of Hate,” about the 2017 violence in Charlottesville.

Chris Tyree

Tyree is the senior director and co-founder of the Virginia Center for Investigative Journalism, an independent, nonprofit news organization.

Ex-Officio Members, 2022-2023

Robin Reed

Reed is an anchor at WDBJ and a professor of professional practice at Virginia Tech. He is the student-chapter representative on the SPJVA board. 

Jeff South

South, a former newspaper editor and reporter who taught journalism at Virginia Commonwealth University, was president of SPJVA from 2019 to 2021.

The officers and board members in 2021-22 are listed here.

Here is how the lineup of board members has changed:

Position2021-22 officeholder2022-23 officeholder
PresidentDina WeinsteinDina Weinstein
Vice presidentBonnie Newman DavisElliott Robinson
SecretaryBrett HallMechelle Hankerson
TreasurerBrian EckertFadel Allassan
Director 1 (expiring 2023)Elliott RobinsonFrances Broaddus-Crutchfield
Director 2 (expiring 2023)Nicole LivasNicole Livas
Director 3 (expiring 2024)Chuck JacksonChuck Jackson
Director 4 (expiring 2024)Desiree MontillaDesiree Montilla
Director 5 (expiring 2023)Frank KlimkoBrian Carlton
Director 6 (expiring 2024)Fadel AllassanHawes Spencer 
Director 7 (expiring 2022/2025)Caroline CardwellDeana Meredith
Director 8 (expiring 2022/2025)Logan BogertChris Tyree
Director 9 (expiring 2022/2025)John HopkinsBrett Hall
Immediate past presidentJeff SouthJeff South
Student chapter representativeRobin ReedRobin Reed

Thank you, departing board members

The SPJ Virginia Pro Chapter thanks the outgoing SPJVA leaders for their years of service:

  • Bonnie Newman Davis, who had been serving as vice president
  • Brian Eckert, who had been serving as treasurer
  • And departing directors Logan Bogert, Caroline Cardwell, John Hopkins and Frank Klimko
%d bloggers like this: