Local student wins national SPJ essay contest

A big congratulations is due to Daniel Yoo, a student at Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School in Richmond, for winning the 2012 SPJ High School Essay Contest. Our chapter chose Yoo as the top essayist in our area, and the national judges seemed to agree.

From our national office:

The Society of Professional Journalists is pleased to announce three scholarship winners in the 2012 High School Essay Contest. Nearly 1,000 public, private and home-schooled students in grades 9-12 submitted essays on the topic “Why is it important that we have news media that are independent of the government?”
Professional and student SPJ chapters served as judges for the local round of the contest. First-place local recipients advanced to the national round of judging, which took place in April. The national judges were from SPJ’s chapter at Ithaca College.

2012 High School Essay Contest Award Winners

First Place, $1,000 Scholarship Winner:
Hwasung (Daniel) Yoo of the Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School for Government and International Studies in Richmond, Va.

Second Place, $500 Scholarship Winner:
Niisackey Mills of South Plainfield High School in South Plainfield, N.J.

Third Place, $300 Scholarship Winner:
Dustin Chandler of East Burke High School in Connelly Springs, N.C.

Published by kane804

A Richmond, Va.-based photojournalist exploring the world one frame at a time.

%d bloggers like this: