Nominees for officer and director positions for 2021-22

From April 12-18, our chapter will hold an election to fill officer positions and seats on the board. Here are the nominees, who would take office beginning July 1:

President — Dina Weinstein, editor and publisher of RVA on the Cheap; writer for VCU Public Affairs, Richmond Magazine, the Henrico Citizen and other publications; and, before moving to Richmond in 2017, a journalism professor and adviser to the student newspaper at Miami Dade College. Former Florida SPJ chapter board member.

Vice president — Bonnie Newman Davis, a journalist, journalism educator and media consultant whose current term as an SPJ VA director will expire June 30.

Treasurer — Brian Eckert, an independent communications consultant who would continue in this role as an SPJ VA officer.

Secretary — Brett Hall, a reporter for WAVY-TV in Norfolk and a current director for SPJ VA. In becoming secretary, Brett would give up his director’s term, which expires in 2022.

Director, 1-year term (to 2022; serving the remainder of Brett’s term) — Logan Bogert, currently a reporter for The News Virginian in Waynesboro and the current secretary of SPJ VA. (Logan will become communications coordinator at Bridgewater College in May.)

Director, 1-year term (to 2022; serving the remainder of Clissa England’s term, which Clissa would like to relinquish) — Caroline Cardwell, PR strategist at the Virginia Retirement System and the current vice president of SPJ VA.

Director, 3-year term (to 2024; succeeding Bonnie Newman Davis, whose term is expiring) — Chuck Jackson, editor of The MadRapp Recorder, serving Madison and Rappahannock counties.

Director, 3-year term (to 2024; succeeding Greg Gilligan, whose term is expiring) — Desiree Montilla, a reporter for NBC12 and previously a weekend anchor, reporter and producer for CBS19 News in Charlottesville.

Director, 3-year term (to 2024; succeeding Mike Szvetitz, whose term is expiring) — Fadel Allassan, an associate editor at Axios.

The election will be held via an online ballot that we will send on April 12 to all SPJVA members. (That means everyone who is current on their national and local SPJ dues. You can check your membership status at If you have questions, email Caroline Escobar, the Manager of Membership and Chapters at SPJ headquarters, at The deadline to vote will be April 18.

In the election, SPJVA members also will vote on proposed changes to our chapter’s bylaws. Those changes were summarized in the February issue of our newsletter and are detailed here

Published by SPJ Virginia Pro

SPJ is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry through the daily work of its nearly 10,000 members; works to inspire and educate current and future journalists through professional development; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press through its advocacy efforts.

%d bloggers like this: