Wirt presented George Mason Award

The Virginia Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists honored retired Virginia Commonwealth University professor Wilma Wirt Wednesday night in Richmond. Wirt is the 52nd winner of the annual award honoring journalists for their contributions to Virginia journalism. The chapter also awarded Wayne Farrar, the recently retired news director of WCVE, the George and FrancineContinue reading “Wirt presented George Mason Award”

Eckert honored with SPJVA service award

The Society of Professional Journalists, Virginia Pro chapter, gave its George and Frances Crutchfield Distinguished Service Award for 2013 to longtime chapter leader Brian Eckert at the annual George Mason Banquet and Celebration June 18. Eckert, an SPJ member since 1987, joined the Virginia Pro board in the late 1990s and would hold a numberContinue reading “Eckert honored with SPJVA service award”

2011 George Mason Award wrapup

Virginia Pro Chapter hosted our annual George Mason Award Ceremony and Celebration with a crowd of about 50  at the 2300 Club in Richmond Wednesday, June 22. The George Mason Award

 Craig T. Merritt, 2011 recipient of the George Mason Award, accepted the award from President Nicole McMullin and incoming President Paul Fletcher, after anContinue reading “2011 George Mason Award wrapup”