Studio SPJ: Covering the Occupy Protests

The Occupy Wall Street protests have spread across the nation and as reporters and photographers are covering these events in their communities some are finding themselves arrested simply for doing their job. Join Studio SPJ producer Holly Fisher as she leads a discussion on journalists’ arrests and what SPJ and other groups are doing toContinue reading “Studio SPJ: Covering the Occupy Protests”

Join us for a tribute to George Mason on Dec. 11

The Society of Professional Journalists, Virginia Pro chapter, announces a tribute to George Mason, founding father and author of the Virginia Declaration of Rights, the model for the Bill of Rights in the U.S. Constitution. On Mason’s birthday — Sunday, Dec. 11 – we will travel to the George Mason Memorial in Washington, D.C.’s WestContinue reading “Join us for a tribute to George Mason on Dec. 11”

SPJVA to sponsor screening of film ‘Reporter’

The University of Richmond Journalism Department will host a screening of the award-winning documentary “Reporter” and a conversation with director Eric Daniel Metzgar, on Wednesday, Nov. 16, at 7:30 p.m. in the Alice Haynes Room of the Commons at UR. Metzgar’s film is a feature about Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist Nick Kristof’s reporting trip to theContinue reading “SPJVA to sponsor screening of film ‘Reporter’”

Meet the Media Day – Sept. 9, 2011

We have an exciting chapter program coming up next month! Meet the Media Day is a program for central Virginia non-profit organizations, presented by the Society of Professional Journalists – Virginia Pro Chapter and the University of Richmond’s Jepson School of Leadership Studies on Friday, Sept. 9. Editors and reporters representing the gamut of RichmondContinue reading “Meet the Media Day – Sept. 9, 2011”

2011 George Mason Award wrapup

Virginia Pro Chapter hosted our annual George Mason Award Ceremony and Celebration with a crowd of about 50  at the 2300 Club in Richmond Wednesday, June 22. The George Mason Award

 Craig T. Merritt, 2011 recipient of the George Mason Award, accepted the award from President Nicole McMullin and incoming President Paul Fletcher, after anContinue reading “2011 George Mason Award wrapup”