Call for nominations: annual George Mason Award

The Society of Professional Journalists, Virginia Pro Chapter, seeks nominations for its George Mason Award, presented annually since 1964 to journalists and others who have supported freedom of the press and made significant contributions to Virginia journalism.

The award expresses the esteem of SPJ members, who are committed to ethics, freedom of information, education and legal defense of reporters in the practice of journalism.

The award plaque carries Mason’s conviction regarding the role of the press: “Freedom of the press is one of the great bulwarks of Liberty and can never be restrained but by despotick governments.”

Previous recipients have included Alf Goodykoontz, Charles S. Rowe, Guy Friddell, George Crutchfield, Bob Gallimore, Frosty Landon, Ed Jones, Ginger Stanley, Jerry Finch, John Edwards and others.

Please send detailed nominations in letter form to: Brian Eckert, Nominations Chair, SPJ-Virginia Pro Chapter. E-mail; fax 804-287-6491. The deadline for nominations is Friday, May 28, 2010.

Published by SPJ Virginia Pro

SPJ is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry through the daily work of its nearly 10,000 members; works to inspire and educate current and future journalists through professional development; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press through its advocacy efforts.

%d bloggers like this: