Stewart Bryan to receive George Mason Award

J. Stewart Bryan III, whose career has included work in almost every aspect of journalism from reporting to corporate management, has been named winner of the 2012 George Mason Award for significant contributions to the advancement of journalism in Virginia.

Society of Professional Journalists, Virginia Pro Chapter (SPJVA), presents the annual award. It cited Bryan’s long support, as a publisher and corporate executive, of battling state and local governments and businesses trying to thwart the public’s right to know.

The honor will be presented Tuesday, June 12 at SPJVA’s 49th George Mason Award Celebration, which will also include presentation of the chapter’s two annual journalism scholarships to current Virginia college students. The affair will take place at the University of Richmond, Tyler Haynes Commons, Alice Haynes Room, beginning with a reception at 6 p.m., followed by dinner and the program at 7. It is open to the public, and ticket information is available at For more information, contact Brian Eckert, SPJVA treasurer, at 804-287-6659 or

Bryan marked his 45th anniversary as a member of SPJ, the nation’s largest journalism professional organization, June 1. He affiliated with the Virginia Pro Chapter in the late 1970s.

The Richmond native was educated at Episcopal High School and the University of Virginia, and served as an infantry officer in the U.S. Marine Corps. He worked in the circulation department of The Richmond News Leader, then in the advertising and production departments of The Burlington (Vt.) Free Press before becoming a reporter with The Tampa Times and the Richmond Times-Dispatch.

Bryan was named vice president of The Tribune Company in 1968, then executive vice president in December 1971 and publisher in June 1976. He was named president and publisher of the Times-Dispatch and The News Leader on Jan. 1, 1978, and was elected chairman, president and CEO of Media General Inc. on May 15, 1990.

 He stepped down as CEO on July 1, 2005, and continues to serve as chairman of the board.

Published by kane804

A Richmond, Va.-based photojournalist exploring the world one frame at a time.

%d bloggers like this: